Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Newsmakers: Jan. 16-22, 2023

Posted online

Health Care
Four Bolivar Technical College students completed Citizens Memorial Hospital’s new LPN/RN apprenticeship program and graduated in December. Those in the first cohort are Rachael Hargus, Adam Kinnard, Chanceler Pemberton and Taylor Townsend, and they’ll be taking the National Council Licensure Examination to become licensed practical nurses.

Kutak Rock LLP elected Springfield attorney Taylor White to the firm’s partnership. A litigation attorney practicing primarily in commercial, banking and real estate litigation, White was among 19 lawyers named partner from seven offices firmwide.

Springfield Metropolitan Bar Association issued four annual awards during its Salute to Judges event at Hickory Hills Country Club. SMBA’s highest honor, the Distinguished Attorney Award, was given to Judge Michael Cordonnier, recognizing his career as a lawyer and judge, as well as his leadership during the pandemic when the courthouse doors remained opened and those who worked and visited were kept as safe as possible. The Judicial Excellence Award was presented to Judge Jason Brown for his nearly 20 years on the bench in Greene County and his community and professional volunteer service. Missouri Sen. Lincoln Hough received the Liberty Bell Award for obtaining additional judicial resources for the 31st Judicial Circuit. The Equal Access to Justice Award went to attorneys Nate Dunville and Scott Pierson for their work in helping people get access and information through the Springfield Metropolitan Bar Foundation Clean Slate Clinics.

Missouri State University Chief of Staff Ryan DeBoef joined Hahn | O’Daniel Government Relations, succeeding the retiring Whit O’Daniel. The Jefferson City-based firm was renamed Hahn | DeBoef Government Relations. At MSU, DeBoef also held the role of assistant to the president for government relations and previously worked as legal counsel in the office of general counsel during his 11-year stint.

The Ozark Board of Aldermen appointed Alderman RJ Flores as mayor, succeeding Bradley Alan Jackson, who became commissioner of the Christian County Eastern District. Flores will serve until a city vote in April, when he plans to seek reelection of his Ward 1 seat. 

The Musgrave Foundation’s fall grant round issued $30,000 to Community Partnership of the Ozarks Inc. for its O’Reilly Center for Hope to fight poverty, hunger and homelessness, and it gave $24,000 apiece for nursing scholarships to Cox College, Drury University, Mercy College of Nursing and Health Sciences at Southwest Baptist University, Missouri State University and Ozarks Technical Community College.

The Salvation Army promoted Community Development Manager Jeff Smith to Development Director. He started 24 years ago working in family shelter services, followed by promotions to Social Services Director and as the grant writer and director for community relations. Smith’s responsible for raising programming and services funds and engaging donors.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
Open for Business: Summit Athletix

A construction industry veteran branched out to a new kind of venture with the May 14 opening of Summit Athletix; the newest marijuana dispensary for Flora Farms LLC opened; and Liora’s Original Creations Nail Salon launched.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences