Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Newsmakers: Dec. 26, 2022-Jan. 1, 2023

Posted online

Last edited 9:57 a.m., Jan. 4, 2023

The state Coordinating Board for Higher Education selected Clif Smart, president of Missouri State University, and Katricia Pierson, president of Crowder College, as members of the Commissioner’s Advisory Group. During their two-year terms, the representatives from state community colleges, the Council on Public Higher Education and the University of Missouri System meet quarterly.

Gov. Mike Parson appointed local individuals to a state board and a commission. William Davis Jr., of Springfield, joined the Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners. A certified cosmetologist in Missouri, he’s owned and directed the Paul Mitchell Beauty School in Columbia since 2014 and also owned HairLoom Salon in Forsyth for 37 years. Bradley Alan Jackson, of Ozark, will serve as the Christian County Eastern District Commissioner, effective Jan. 3. He is co-owner and chief operations officer of Hometown Sports Print House, currently serves as Ozark’s mayor, and previously was inaugural president of the city’s Historic River District Main Street Program.

Health Care
Nick Meinhardt was hired as director of business development for Mercy Springfield Communities’ north central region between Joplin and Rolla. He’s worked at Mercy for 13 years, most recently in direct-to-employer services, such as workers’ compensation, occupational medicine and corporate health.

Mercy Hospital Springfield was recognized by two organizations for its maternity care. U.S. News & World Report ranked the hospital as High Performing, the highest category awarded to the 650 entities assessed. Newsweek gave Mercy a four-ribbon score on its list of America’s Best Maternity Hospitals, rating it one of 350 out of some 2,700 hospitals across the country offering maternity services. Produced in collaboration with Statista, the ratings are based on a national survey of hospital managers and maternity care specialists, key hospital performance data, and patient satisfaction.

Three Citizens Memorial Hospital nurses were named Daisy Award winners for nursing care: Casey Dampier at the Orthopedic & Spine Center; Amy Dwyer at the Osceola Medical Center and Walk-In Clinic; and Chantel Carter in home care services. and The Leapfrog Group, an independent national health care watchdog organization, named Mercy Hospital Springfield on the list of Best Hospitals and Surgery Centers for Billing Ethics. Facilities were selected based on clear descriptions of services billed, instructions on applying for financial assistance and options for getting bills sent in the patient’s primary language, as well as high marks for preventing medical errors and harm to patients.

The Ozark Trails Council Inc. of the Boy Scouts of America hired Sara Earnhart as the district executive over the southern region from Branson to West Plains. She previously taught seventh grade in Fort Smith, Arkansas, after graduating from the University of Arkansas-Fort Smith.

Real Estate
Gerken & Associates agent Dave Dove was named the Tri-Lakes Board of Realtors 2022 Realtor of the Year. He was recognized for completing the Missouri Realtors Leadership Academy, annually serving on Tri-Lakes Board committees, and as Outreach Committee chair, obtaining two national placemaking grants, as well as receiving the national e-Pro designation and At Home with Diversity certification.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
Most Read
Update cookies preferences