Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Newsmakers: Aug. 23-29, 2021

Posted online

Banking & Finance
Amy Yaryan Cole of Penney, Murray & Associates earned the designation of private wealth adviser with Ameriprise Financial Services LLC. She’s worked in the firm’s Carthage office since 1997 and is among the 18% of approximately 10,000 Ameriprise financial advisers to earn the status.

Edward Jones financial adviser Bill Scorse earned the firm’s A.F. McKenzie Award for exceptional achievement in building client relationships. He runs an Edward Jones office in Nixa.

T-Mobile received the top spot in the J.D. Power 2021 U.S. Wireless Customer Care Mobile Network Operator Performance Study-Vol. 2. It’s the 22nd time T-Mobile ranked No. 1. Metro by T-Mobile also won the top honor in its segment for customer service by virtual network operators.

The Ozark Board of Education hired Elizabeth Dawson as the 2021-22 director of the Tiger Paw Early Childhood Center. Succeeding Laura Eakins, who was promoted to director of interventions, Dawson has served as Tiger Paw assistant director since 2019 and has worked for the district since 2015. She holds a bachelor’s in communications sciences and disorders and a master’s in speech-language pathology from Missouri State University, as well as a specialist in educational administration from William Woods University.

Southwest Baptist University was named among the 2021-22 Colleges of Distinction. It also was recognized in the Christian colleges category and one of 11 higher education institutions featured in Missouri. The college-scouting program conducts research and interviews about each school’s freshmen experiences and retention efforts, alongside its general education programs, career development, strategic plan and student satisfaction, to meet its four distinctions: engaged students, great teaching, vibrant community, and successful outcomes.

Sun Solar LLC was named a top solar contractor in Missouri and No. 207 in the nation by Solar Power World. In the annual Top Solar Contractor list, companies are ranked based on kilowatt capacity of projects installed in the past year.

Denise Dickens, of Crane, was appointed as Stone County Clerk. She’s worked the majority of her 30-year career with the county as deputy clerk and most recently as administrative assistant in the commissioners’ office.

Community Foundation of the Ozarks Inc. appointed new board members Roy Hardy Jr., Jimmy Liles and Gail Smart and elected its 2021-22 officers. Hardy, who works at Associated Electric Cooperative Inc. as a power marketer, first became involved with CFO as a student and has served on the scholarship committee. Liles, Nixa’s city administrator, also serves on the board of directors for CFO affiliate Nixa Community Foundation. Smart is a community volunteer who has served for five years on the grantmaking committee for the Northwest Project/RISE. Executive committee members are Chair Robin Morgan, Vice Chair Laurie Edmondson, Treasurer Dean Thompson, Secretary Anne E. McGregor, Investment Advisory Board Chair Kari Creighton, Chair Emeritus Rhonda Christopher and at-large members Emily Kembell and Ron Kraettli.

Associated Electric Cooperative General Manager and CEO David Tudor joined the CoxHealth Foundation Board of Directors. He’s led Springfield-based AECI since 2016 and has 30 years of experience in the energy industry.

Matt Moncado of The Good Samaritan Boys Ranch was promoted to chief operating officer. On staff since 2009, the licensed professional counselor previously served as a therapist and director of the Ranch’s Sexually Abusive Youth Program.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
UnGapping the Map: Forward SGF calls for improved connections in city trail system

The Forward SGF comprehensive plan was born from the input of residents, and one message that came through loud and clear was their desire for connection.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences