Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

The team that designed the Prime Inc. plaza and driver training center receive their award at the Nov. 13 Springfield Contractors Association banquet.
The team that designed the Prime Inc. plaza and driver training center receive their award at the Nov. 13 Springfield Contractors Association banquet.

MSU, Prime projects earn top honors at SCA banquet

Posted online

Missouri State University has done it again.


For the second time in five years, MSU snagged the top honor at the Salute to Design and Construction awards banquet, held this evening at the Oasis Hotel & Convention Center.


At the 34th annual event, the university received the Developer of the Year award from the Springfield Contractors Association in recognition of more than $85.5 million in projects completed by its planning, design and construction department. Several major projects, including renovations of Ellis Hall, Glass Hall and Woods House, were among those finished by the university.


"This has been a tremendous year at Missouri State University. We had 86 construction projects completed in the past 12 months," MSU President Clif Smart said while receiving the award on behalf of the school. "The campus is beautiful and ever more functional."

MSU also received the Developer of the Year honor in 2014 for completing 75 projects valued at over $53.3 million.


The Design Team of the Year award was given by the SCA to the companies behind a $12.35 million project for Prime Inc., which created a nearly 63,000-square-foot plaza and drivers training center. Honored for the project were:

• owner/developer Prime Inc.;

• general contractor Killian Construction Co.;

• architect GHN Architects Engineers;

• engineers GHN Architects Engineers, Miller Engineering PC, Lee Engineering & Associates LLC, Palmerton & Parrish Inc.; and

• interior designer Studio V Design LLC.


SCA Executive Director Megan Short said tonight’s event had 547 registered attendees – a record number for the ceremony, which was first held in 1985.


“It’s been a really good year for construction. There’s a lot to celebrate,” she said, noting there were 100 more registrants than last year’s banquet. “That would be the biggest reason.”


The Salute to Design and Construction Council also presented five lifetime achievement awards to longstanding members of the design and construction industry. Awards were presented to Jim Carson, Kit Carson, Doug Sampson, Ed Textor and Wayne Towe. 

The American Institute of Architects handed out a pair of awards, as Johnnie Faucett with Hartman & Co. Inc. received the Craftsman of the Year honor for the Prime Inc. campus expansion. AIA also honored Jerremy NeSmith of Dewitt & Associates Inc. with the Superintendent of the Year award for the “3G AHU” replacement project at Mercy Hospital Springfield.

The National Association of Women in Construction’s Southwest Missouri Chapter presented the Woman of the Year’s Vesta Award to Holly Goodin of Carter-Waters LLC.


Additionally, a trio of MSU teams was recognized for placing in the Associated Schools of Construction Region IV Management Competition. A total of 27 scholarships were handed out and the winners in the annual photo contest were announced.

-Christine Temple contributed.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
Open for Business: Art Zone

Art Zone LLC, Launch Virtual Learning Center and The Permit Shop relocated.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences