Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Council chambers will have new voices come April.
SBJ file
Council chambers will have new voices come April.

10 council candidates file for April election

Posted online

Ten Springfield City Council candidates have filed to run in the April 4 election.

The mayor's seat is up for grabs, as are the Zone 1, 2 and 3 and General Seat C and D spots on council, city spokesperson Cora Scott confirmed. Filings were due yesterday.

For mayor, incumbent Ken McClure is slated to face off against Melanie Bach, president of the Galloway Village Neighborhood Association who helped lead the opposition to the November ballot question concerning Elevation Enterprises LLC's plans for a mixed-use development in the neighborhood. The measure, which would have rezoned property to make way for the development, was rejected by voters at the ballot box.

Andrew Lear of General Seat C and Mike Schilling of Zone 3 previously announced they would not seek re-election. Council member Richard Ollis also did not submit a filing for his General Seat D spot.

Reached this morning, Ollis said he chose not to seek re-election so he could spend more time with family and focus on the Restore SGF homeownership initiative, of which he's a founding board member.

"My kids are getting older, and both of them have moved away from Springfield, one of them actually to Germany. I'm going to be doing a little more traveling to see them," Ollis said. "The main thing that put me over the top is that recently Restore SGF, we got our IRS status and we're seeding our board.

"Frankly, all of that just caused me to, for a lack of a better word, reprioritize what I was going to do as a next chapter."

Running to succeed Ollis for General Seat D in April are Derek Lee of Lee Engineering and Associates LLC and Bruce Adib-Yazdi of The Vecino Group.

For Zone 1, Monica Horton is the lone candidate. She was appointed to council last year to fill the seat vacated by Angela Romine.

Attorney Abe McGull is running uncontested for his Zone 2 seat.

Zone 3 candidates are David Nokes, a retired police officer, and Brandon Jenson, Community Development Block Grant program manager for the Missouri Department of Economic Development.

For General Seat C, Callie Carroll of Old Missouri bank and community activist Jeremy Dean filed by the deadline.

All of the candidates have been certified, said Scott.

General Seat A member Heather Hardinger, General Seat B member Craig Hosmer and Zone 4 member Matthew Simpson are not up for vote in the April election.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
Business Spotlight: Finding the Need and Filling It

Good Samaritan celebrates 65 years.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences