Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Local candidate filings roll into secretary of state’s office

Posted online

Local candidates were among 433 people who visited Missouri Secretary of State Jay Ashcroft’s office on the first day of filing for the August primary election.

Filing opened Feb. 27 and is scheduled to close May 27. Ashcroft’s office indicated the number of opening day candidates was the highest number since at least 2012. Of the filings, 257 were Republicans, 164 were Democrats, 10 were Libertarians, one was with the Green Party and one was a member of the Constitution Party, according to a news release.

Below is a breakdown of candidates who have filed for federal or southwest Missouri offices.

U.S. Representative, District 7:
    •    Incumbent Republican Billy Long;
    •    Republican Benjamin Holcomb;
    •    Republican Lance Norris;
    •    Democrat John Farmer de la Torre; and
    •    Democrat Vince Jennings.

No local candidates have filed for the U.S. senator seat. Among candidates statewide is Republican Missouri Attorney General Josh Hawley.

Missouri Senate, District 20, Christian, Greene counties:
    •    Republican Eric Burlison.

Missouri Senate, District 28, Benton, Cedar, Dallas, Hickory, Laclede, Pettis, Polk and St. Clair counties:
    •    Incumbent Republican Sandy Crawford.

Missouri Senate, District 30, Greene County (City of Springfield):
    •    Republican Lincoln Hough and
    •    Democrat Charlie Norr.

Missouri Senate, District 32, Dade, Jasper and Newton counties:
    •    Republican Bill White and
    •    Conon Gillis of the Green Party.

Missouri House, District 131, Greene County (north Springfield):
    •    Incumbent Republican Sonya Anderson.

Missouri House, District 132, Greene County (central Springfield):
    •    Incumbent Democrat Crystal Quade.

Missouri House, District 133, Greene County (west Springfield):
    •    Incumbent Republican Curtis Trent and
    •    Democrat Cindy Slimp.

Missouri House, District 134, Greene County (southwest Springfield):
    •    Incumbent Republican Elijah Haahr and
    •    Democrat Derrick Nowlin.

Missouri House, District 135, Greene County (southeast Springfield):
    •    Incumbent Republican Steve Helms;
    •    Republican Deshon Porter; and
    •    Democrat Rob Bailey.

Missouri House, District 136, Greene County (southeast Springfield):
    •    Republican Craig Fishel and
    •    Democrat Jeff Munzinger.

Missouri House, District 128, Polk, Cedar counties:
    •    Incumbent Republican Mike Stephens and
    •    Democrat Rich Horton.

Missouri House, District 129, Laclede, Dallas counties:
    •    Republican Jeff Knight and
    •    Democrat Ronna Ford.

Missouri House, District 130, Greene County (Republic and Willard):
    •    Incumbent Republican Jeff Messenger and
    •    Democrat Tyler Gunlock.

Missouri House, District 137, Greene, Webster counties:
    •    Republican John Black;
    •    Republican Ryan Cantrell;
    •    Republican Georjene Tilton; and
    •    Democrat Raymond Lampert.

Missouri House, District 138, Christian, Stone and Taney counties:
    •    Republican Brad Hudson;
    •    Republic Isaac Howard Paul Boyd; and
    •    Republican Marshall Works.

Missouri House, District 139, Christian County:
    •    Incumbent Republican Jered Taylor and Republican Michael Meyer.

Missouri House, District 140, Christian County:
    •    Incumbent Republican Lynn Morris and
    •    Republican Jason Shaffer.

Missouri House, District 156, Taney County:
    •    Incumbent Republican Jeff Justus.

Missouri House, District 155, Douglas, Ozark and Taney counties:
    •    Republicans Karla Eslinger and
    •    Mike Lind.

Missouri House, District 158, Barry, Lawrence and Stone counties:
    •    Incumbent Republican Scott Fitzpatrick.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick

12 People You Need to Know in 2019

Read the profiles of the selected guests for the editorial live interview series.

Most Read